You’re Just Like Me: Anonymous

This week my guest blogger is UNKNOWN. No really, I can not release any information about them because I don’t have any, but I still think its awesome that they wanted to share their story with us! Whether anonymous or not, each story is different and a much needed release in our sad covered up world of mental health. Please join me and welcoming them and tell them how brave they are to do this..

I wish more of us were like them…

_______________________________________________________________________


So you have a mental illness.. Which one? 

I have been diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Bipolar II with mixed features

 When were you diagnosed & how old were you?

I was first diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder when I was 17.  I am 24 now and was just diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder right at three months ago.

 How do you cope with your mental illness?

Taking my medication as prescribed every day is my first and foremost way of caring for myself.  I also created a WRAP (Wellness Recovery Action Plan) that I try to follow as closely as possible.  Sleep is a huge part of my wellness.  So are playing with my dog, tracking my symptoms through the DBSA Wellness Tracker Application, and SELF CARE.  Self care is so so so important.  Some days that means reading or knitting or baking or listening to music and some days that just means getting out of the bed and taking a shower.

 What are 3 words that you would describe how your illness makes you feel?

Unhinged.  Stigmatized.  Irritable.

 What are some ways you relax from your illness?

I like to take my dog to the dog park and talk to the people there.  None of them know about my mental illness, so it’s like a little break.  Alternatively, I really love going to the DBSA (Depression Bipolar Support Alliance) support group in my area.  Being in a room full of people who get it can be such a wonderful and powerful experience.

 What is some advice you would give to your fellow soldiers fighting this fight?

Go easy on yourself.  You didn’t choose this and it isn’t your fault.  Your illness is an explanation, not an excuse.  Take time each day to spend at least a tiny bit of time doing something you love.  You are NOT your illness.  It is a part of you, but it isn’t all of you.

 Tell us your blog or how we can keep in contact with you:

mybipolarrollercoaster.wordpress.com

 _____________________________________________________________________

If your interested in being featured as a B.U.L.’s(Bipolar, Unemployed & Lost) weekly GUEST BLOGGER, please email the above questions and answers to bipolarunemployedlost@gmail.com. We will feature your Q&A! I’d love to hear your experience and motivation to fight this horrible disease. Anonymous Welcomed!

5 thoughts on “You’re Just Like Me: Anonymous

Rant on, my friends!

